Christmas at home

I have inherited from my mom the taste for cooking and parties. I love to set tables, select table cloths, plates, glasses, silverware. The party for me starts way before, and sometimes I have more fun organizing it!

I immensely enjoy Christmas. This time I didn’t have time to organize things beforehand, as I usually do, so I spent the whole day working!

My guests arrive at different times on Christmas Eve, so I prefer to have a "cold menu" and put everything on the table.

We had the traditional pork with apricot jam (I will post the recipes later), turkey breast with grapes sauce, Jamaican Ham (Jamie Oliver’s recipe), 7 grains rice, farofa, half-dried tomatoes, dips, sauces, cheeses and cold cuts. We also had our traditional Christmas cake – it is somewhat like the British Christmas cake, but better! ;-d

This time I decided to set all the glasses in the same place – champagne flutes, wine glasses, whisky, everything. I put some candle in the green antique wine glasses Sergio gave me last year and voilá: it looked great.  I liked the result and I didn’t have to worry about glasses all evening.

Lights and Presents everywhere.

The nativity scene is new; Caio’s great-grandmother gave him to explain Jesus’ story. But the little Jesus I have it since I was born.

I like to add small Christmassy touches everywhere. Those little red ribbons were Eduina’s idea and I quite liked it, even though the photo didn’t come out too well (and not because my mother-in-law is in the picture!!)

Leave a comment